Too many tickets can result in a loss of license in North Carolina. With the state’s driver’s license points system, even violations that seem small can add up to significant penalties.
Review the North Carolina DMV point system to avoid an unexpected license suspension.
Getting 12 points in three years results in a license suspension for 60 days. After the suspension, the driver’s record resets to zero points.
After the first suspension, a driver can receive a subsequent suspension after eight points within three years. A second suspension lasts six months, while a third or additional suspension for points lasts a full year.
Types of violations
Aggressive driving, the most serious violation, carries five points. Following another vehicle too closely is another five-point offense.
Motorists can receive four points for reckless driving, leaving the scene of a collision that caused property damage, failure to yield to a pedestrian or driving on the wrong side of the road.
Common three-point violations include failure to yield to another car, running a stop sign or red light, failure to stop for a siren, driving without insurance, failure to report an accident, and speeding in a school zone.
In addition to these tickets, drivers can receive an automatic suspension in North Carolina for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, street racing, or driving at least 15 miles per hour over the limit in a 50 mph or higher zone. Driving with a suspended license is also grounds for another suspension.
Drivers have the right to appear in court and contest these tickets. Doing so may result in reduced points and fines.