PLEASE NOTE: Our office remains open at this time. To protect your safety in response to the threat of COVID-19, we are offering our clients and potential clients the ability to meet with us via telephone or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options. 

Attorney photo

Let Us Do The Worrying For You

Minor Mistakes Can Have Big Consequences

J.D. Byers has tried and won cases in all trial court levels in the State of North Carolina.  If your freedom and future, or a loved one’s future well-being, is at stake due to a misdemeanor charge, please contact us today. Arranging a free initial consultation with Winston-Salem, North Carolina, attorney J.D. Byers may be the best step you can take under these stressful circumstances.

A proven criminal defense attorney, Forsyth County based J.D. Byers is well-equipped to assess any criminal case, with 25 years of experience defending people charged with all types of misdemeanors, including:

  • Assault and assault on a female
  • Larceny
  • Possession of marijuana
  • Possession of drug paraphernalia
  • Shoplifting/concealment of goods
  • Driving with revoked license
  • Failure to return rental property
  • Trespassing
  • 50B Violations
  • Resisting a police/law enforcement officer
  • Communicating threats
  • Possession of stolen goods
  • Prostitution

Understanding The Three Types Of Misdemeanor Classifications

Misdemeanors in North Carolina are divided into four classes – A1, 1, 2, and 3, depending on the relative severity of the offense alleged.

A Class A1 misdemeanor is the most serious class of misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of 150 days in jail  and fines are at the discretion of the Court. Class A1 misdemeanors include assault on a female, assault on a government employee, violation of a restraining order, assault with a deadly weapon, and sexual battery.

A Class 1 misdemeanors carries a maximum penalty of 120 days in jail and fines are at the discretion of the Court. Class 1 misdemeanors include larceny, possession of stolen goods, possession of drug paraphernalia, damage to realty or chattels, communicating threats, prostitution, and Driving with a revoked license (DWLR) if you were revoked for a previous impaired driving offense.

A Class 2 misdemeanors carries a maximum penalty of sixty (60) days in jail and fines are at the discretion of the Court (capped at $1,000). Class 2 misdemeanors include simple assault/battery/affray, resisting a law enforcement officer, and carrying a concealed weapon.

A Class 3 misdemeanor carries a maximum penalty of twenty (20) days in jail and fines are at the discretion of the Court (capped at $200). Class 3 misdemeanors include concealment of goods in a store, driving with an open alcohol container, littering, possession of marijuana (< ½ oz.), and violations of municipal ordinances.

Schedule A Free Consultation To Find Out How We Can Help With All Three Types

No matter if you or someone you know is facing a Class 1, 2 or 3 misdemeanor, we have experience navigating the various complexities surrounding misdemeanors. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation and learn how we can assist you.